Dieter W. Bäuerle - Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Kunst

Dieter W. Bäuerle Foundation









The purpose of the foundation is to promote scientific research and teaching, especially in the field of natural sciences.

Priority shall be given to research dealing with the fundamentals and applications of laser-matter interactions in physics, chemistry, life-sciences, medicine and art.

In addition, young artists, especially musicians, are to be supported.



Support is to be provided through:

-       Prizes and scholarships for the promotion of students and young researchers

-       Supporting research stays at home and abroad

-       Inviting foreign academics to give lectures in seminars and colloquia



How to apply:

Candidates all over the world are encouraged to apply. The prize is awarded for excellent research and developments in science and particular efforts in the field of arts. The following information is requested:


-       Name and address

-       CV

-       Description of the most essential achievements in relation to the state of the art

-       Two supporting letters of reference

-       All required documents must be written in German or in English

-       Deadline for applications is the end of January

-       Prizes are presented every two years at an award ceremony at the Johannes Kepler University Linz.
It is obligatory to attend the award ceremony



The organs of the foundation are:

Board of directors:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr.hc. Dieter W. Bäuerle

Prof. Dr. Josef Schlager


Scientific Advisory Council:

Prof. Dr. Thomas A. Klar, chairman,

       Institute of Applied Physics, Johannes Kepler University, Altenberger Straße 69, 4040 Linz, Austria

Prof. Dr. Markus Aspelmeyer,

       Institute for Quantum Optics, Quantum Nanophysics and Quantum Information, University Vienna

Prof. Dr. Johannes D. Pedarnig,

       Institute of Applied Physics, Johannes Kepler University Linz

Prof. Dr. DDr.hc. Niyazi Serdar Sariciftci,

       Institute of Physical Chemistry and Linz Institute for Organic Solar Cells, Johannes Kepler University

Prof. Dr. Alfred Vogel,

       Institute of Biomedical Optics, University of Lübeck


Advisory Council for Art:

Prof. Wolfgang Brunner,

       Mozarteum University Salzburg

Prof. Martin Rummel,

       Anton Bruckner Private University Linz

Prof. Dr. Linde Brunmayr-Tutz

       Staatliche Hochschule für Musik Trossingen

Clara Iannotta

       Artistic director of the festival Klangspuren Schwaz



Dr. Jörg Jenatschek

Dr. Reinhard Schwarz




Dieter W. Bäuerle-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Kunst / Dieter W. Bäuerle Foundation

c/o Johannes Kepler University Linz

Institute of Applied Physics

Altenberger Straße 69

4040 Linz, Austria